kgitch on chatter and connections

I joined the #etmooc orientation this afternoon from my office.  Which meant that my office phone rang, people walked in asking questions and I felt torn between what was needed and what I wanted to be doing.

Apparently, my timezone will always place the class time in the midst of something else.   Ironic. Didn’t I tell you I was a multitasking type of learner?  Able to juggle and do more than one thing at a time? Yikes, this one is definitely going to stretch my powers.   If I am going to take this serious, I will have to participate from the sidelines and catch the recordings of most of this course. I’ll have to make a commitment as professional development time.

Overall, it was an introduction to the weeks that are coming, so I didn’t miss much.  Alec is fun to listen to – comfortable and engaging. The chat corner was a 100 miles an hour, and to whomever shared how to save the chat **thank you**, I’ll be doing that from now on. I was able to open all links saving them to read in the quiet hours (**love Evernote**). And lastly, I thoroughly enjoyed the drawing feature engaging the group to respond.  I’m a huge fan of the visual, allowing for the group to share creatively.

I’m curious though, how to engage and connect in that sphere? I’m much more comfortable on Twitter or commenting on blogs, but found the space today not so comfortable for engaging.

If you have a good method that works, let me know! Time for me to search the blogs, follow more twitter accounts and ask a ton of questions.

14 thoughts on “kgitch on chatter and connections

  1. Hi Karin,
    I don’t think you are alone in how you feel re chat rooms. I have never enjoyed them myself, they move too fast and hop all over. So I didn’t even try. I wrote some notes, and Tweeted out (I am much more comfortable there) links and statements that resonated with me. I feel completely OK with that. Maybe later I will enjoy chat rooms more or maybe not. But I am OK with either outcome.

    Anyway, I hope you still enjoyed your first session. I ‘ll look for you in the chat room next time 🙂

    Carolyn
    (@okmbio)

    • Carolyn,
      I discovered that the chat room function distracted me from listening. While I’ve used them in the past with no problem, perhaps it was because of the content being shared and I had more time to chat. 🙂 I think I’m going to do the same as you, be comfortable with what I do participate in and perhaps not chatting for a while and see where it goes.

      I did enjoy Alec’s talk, though – big fan of his laugh and passion for what he is sharing. Plus there’s so much more to come! Something to look forward to.

      I almost didn’t post tonight, but I’m going with my stream of thought on this whole course and see who I can talk with and learn from.
      Thanks for commenting and for the encouragement!
      Karin

  2. I laughed when I read about phones and people interrupting… My day, every day is just like that. Maybe my fault, but the on-demand access of my teacher-librarian role at school as expanded from school hours to include out of timetable classes and now online at home. Being open isn’t always good or at least it feels Ive lost a handle on ‘office hours’. So even your time zone need not be alone. Your Evernote idea is great. I love the draw/doodle section too.

    • Al,
      I hear you on office hours, funny how no one comes by when I have plenty of time! Evernote is hands down one of my favorite programs. ~ k

  3. I hear all of you. I took the chat box and moved it off of the screen. The scribbling all over the pages became a little maddening, but as long as the moderators were able to understand what was happening, I guess that this is okay?
    Sometimes it’s best to simply watch and observe. Sometimes we don’t take enough time for pause and reflection.
    I am really excited about some of the bigger names that will interact with us. I have followed Sue Waters, from Australia, since the fall. In fact, I included Alex and Sue as part of my initial “Tribe” for my PLN presentation in December. What I did reflect to my classmates, was how my tribe was shifting. While I will continue to follow those with a greater public presence, my tribe has now shifted to include the individuals who are part of my MOOCs-I wrote about this as a process of finding my people.
    I have reservations about creating something about myself just for this course. I have a plate of other things that I need to contend with this week before I can consider what I should create. I need it to be useful for me beyond the class, if that makes any sense.
    Having Howard Rheingold participate is worth every effort that I will devote to this class. He has so much to share that resonates with me.
    Karin, guess you’ll need to use your “Google” calendar to block off all of the on-air times!

    • Laurie,
      Completely agree with you. I’ve followed the thought leaders for the last year, and truly enjoy that they are a part of this, though honestly the people that impact me are not the ‘famous’, it’s you and I who share. I very much enjoyed your post on “my people” – that concept resonates with me.

      In a brilliant move, I’ve signed up for the courses all at the same time, I’m finding that each has their own strengths. My search is for tools, best practices and connections. I’m thinking I might get my wish!!

      See you on twitter!
      ~k
      @kgitch

  4. I enjoyed reading your reflections. I think each time I participate in an online session w/chat features I either need to make the choice to tune in, or tune out to the stream of chats. This week, for the most part I tuned out and just tried to pay attention to the presenter and the information being shared on the slides. (A large reason for this was because I was holding a baby in one arm, trying to sway him to sleep in my office chair! Haha). It can be overwhelming to try to engage with the audio/video/chat/whiteboard all at once. I like how Alec suggested within the #etmooc community we find smaller communities of people with shared passions/learning goals in order to more deeply engage. I hope that through our experiences we are able to do so!

    • Lyn,
      Sorry for the delay in commenting, I was using my Kindle on Tuesday and it must not have posted!

      The last two sessions have been MUCH smaller in attendance and the conversation flow was easy to catch up with – both in the chat and listening to the presenter. This morning, I was in my bathrobe sipping coffee and it was the ideal time for me to join in the conversation. 🙂

      You are right on target for my goal, finding a community of thought and sounding board to share ideas and projects with. That really is what I am aiming for with the etmooc. I’m familiar enough with the content, having been a lurker for over a year, but it’s amazing to listen to hundreds of other voices sharing their thoughts. I am seriously enjoying the process in this mooc.

      Jazzed to be following you, look forward to talking further.
      ~Karin (@kgitch)

    • Happy to connect with you! Thanks for sharing on your blog about Bitstrips – I’ve got a few students who are going to love using that. I’ve used Elluminate successfully in the past, but I think what I was writing about was the speed of 150 qualified and talented tech-teachers using the chat session was a lot different than the shy students or non-tech friendly people using the program. Once getting comfortable with the format of this highly talented group, I think we’ll all feel more comfortable. Looking forward to more shared information! @kgitch

  5. I apologise for the short note, but I wanted to leave you with a few thoughts from my experience as a learner in a cMOOC:

    * The chats can be a bit chaotic but you don’t have to follow everything–I find following a bit of both takes a bit of practice (thought I’m sure it’s complicated by the fact that you’re joining from work). Try to find what works for you. I sometimes used to review them again later to check out what any gems I might have missed and make a few notes.
    * Personal Learning Network connections, like any relationship, take time. (Think of how friendships develop: what does that process look like?)

    @alisonseaman

    • Thanks Alison, I think the title of my blog got the conversation going in another direction when what I meant to be asking was more “how” others have connected. Learned a few lessons from this. Appreciate your tips, and agree. I’m taking it slow, enjoying the chats and the twitter connections. No worries!

      Appreciate you stopping in and commenting! @kgitch

  6. Hi Karin, thanks for the blog follow. I know what you mean about the chat. I attended the second session (my choices are 11pm or 5am so clashing with work is not a major issue) and Alec commented that there were fewer in the session than the first and he expects it to stay that way. It may not be an option for you though.

    I think it is going to take me a few weeks to find my feet in this MOOC but I’m looking forward to the journey.

    • Hi Rebeka, I’ve enjoyed your posts! Thanks for stopping in here. I joined a session this morning relaxed at home prior to coming in to work – completely enjoyed myself. I think perhaps I was experiencing the “new-ness” of hundreds of people posting and titled my post incorrectly. I learned a good lesson that…

      What I was really asking was how others connected and found their “people” to engage with – I’m discovering that the blogs are amazing and will continue to view, comment and connect.

      ~Karin (@kgitch)

Look forward to your comments! Or you can just like...

